Pennywise Shopping and a Quiet Week

On Tuesday I had decided that I would go to the shopping center as I had a few things to do and I could visit the in-laws after I was done. They live close to the shops so it made the journey more practical and economical. This is a dangerous pastime when you are trying to save money! 

I decided that I needed to write a list of what I had to do and in addition to this I had received some vouchers through the post. So before I left I sat down and compared what was on my list with the vouchers to see if I could make any savings or use the vouchers, normally the vouchers go straight in the bin! 

Image

 

The items I needed in Boots should have cost me £20 but by using vouchers the cost was £14, I got double advantage card points (I use these at Christmas) and I also got a free baby changing bag as I had signed up to their parenting club. So this was a good start. I returned an item to Primark and rather than exchange it I got a refund of £5, finally I had a voucher for M&S so was able to get a couple of the last bits for my hospital bag and I only had to put £2 to it. So I got loads of stuff and it only cost me £9 if you take the Primark refund off 🙂 I didn’t mess around at the shops so I also kept my parking to less than an hour meaning it only cost me 50p. 

I then got the bits of food I needed from Sainsburys, I stuck to the list and spent less than £11. We had lunch with the in-laws and headed home without feeling guilty about over spending! 

It really has been quiet week in our house due to illness and additional visits to the midwife. We have had lots of visits from family and yesterday we enjoyed some sunshine in the garden while we fed the garden birds and cleaned the chickens house. Today we baked some muffins and went to the park for a while, it has actually been a refreshing change from rushing around. 

No spend day 11 today so its looking good for our target of 14 in February. 

Leave a comment